COMEDY OF ERRORS (3)…95 MORE MISTAKES ARISING FROM NIGERIAN VERNACULAR TRANSLATIONS (WAEC/NECO ENGLISH LANGUAGE)

COMEDY OF ERRORS (3)…100 MORE MISTAKES ARISING FROM NIGERIAN VERNACULAR TRANSLATIONS (WAEC/NECO ENGLISH LANGUAGE)

The following statements are wrong.Can you correct them and send your corrections to us or finalize with your tutors?

PART 1

  1. He went to school on Saturday to know maths                          
  2. I don’t have time to see you today.                                               
  3. Do you like to see my shoes?                                                          
  4. He took a high mark in English.                                                       
  5. My English book is with my brother.                                             
  6. I shall sleep early tonight.                                                                 
  7. Leave the other end of the rope.                                                    
  8. I was hearing her sweet song.                                                         
  9. The ship was drowned in the ocean.                                              
  10. Leave me to get my book.                                                                
  11. The teacher accepted to go with us.                                               
  12. We have always won your school in football.                               
  13. Sir, can I go home to get my book?                                                  
  14. Please borrow me your book.                                                           
  15. I want to lend your book from you.                                                  
  16. Tables are usually made from wood.                                               
  17. Edison discovered the gramophone.                                                
  18. I am now persuaded of his honesty.    
  19. He revenged his brother’s murder.                                                   
  20. I never interfere in his wish.                                                               
  21. She has put on black shoes.                                                                
  22. I wear my cloth in the morning.                                                         
  23. We hanged the picture on the wall.                                                  
  24. The murder was caught and hung.                                                    
  25. I am going to lay down for an hour.                                                   
  26. Divide the doughnuts between you three.                                        
  27. There was a fight among two boys.                                                     
  28.  I cannot buy it for such a price.                                                            
  29. He lives at Abuja or at Enugu.                                                               
  30. I spent my holiday in Calabar                                                                
  31. Only I and my brother are present                                                     
  32.  I have read the two first chapters                                                       
  33. He neither speaks English nor French                                                 
  34. I only saw him ones  after that                                                             
  35. From where can I buy a good wristwatch?                                         
  36. Our examinations will begin from Thursday                                            
  37. He has got black hair                                                                                    
  38. You can’t make him to understand                                                           
  39. You must be careful in the future.                                                             
  40. On Sunday we go to the church                                                                
  41. The Gold is a precious metal                                                                      
  42.  Better go home at once.                                                                               
  43. I am coming, I just want to get to Agboju quickly”                                                                                                                         
  44. I enjoyed during the holiday                                                                      
  45. “Give me chance, let me pass” 
  46.  He is stronger than everybody.                                                                   
  47. I told them not to make noise                                                                       
  48. I play violin but not piano.                                                                             
  49. Can you supply me all I need?                                                                        
  50. He has not replied me yet
COMEDY OF ERRORS (3)…100 MORE MISTAKES ARISING FROM NIGERIAN VERNACULAR TRANSLATIONS (WAEC/NECO ENGLISH LANGUAGE)

……mason college festac …more leisure and life skills!…

The following statements are wrong.Can you correct them and send your corrections to us or finalize with your tutors?

PART 2

  1. “He slept little”
  2. I want to peace/piss/piece                                                                               
  3.  “I don’t think”                                                                                                     
  4. How is daddy and mummy?
  5. One of the boys were                                                                                        
  6. “Last two months”                                                                                              
  7. Even if you see fuel                                                                                            
  8. The country’s currency still had it’s stand                                                     
  9.  Come and see things with your eyes
  10. You cannot find corruption in his hand
  11. My father can’t see money to pay my school fees.
  12. Your mouth will not touch it.
  13. There is no market nowadays.
  14. John refused that he has done it.
  15. He has a polygamy family.
  16. I wanted to see you but I was not chanced
  17. He earns only N5,000 only 
  18. I’ll come back before 1 hr.
  19. We entered into the classroom.
  20. Are you following the game?
  21. John has not come also.
  22. According to my opinion, he is right.
  23. These two boys help one another.
  24. These three boys help each other
  25. Who of these three boys is taller?
  26. Whom do you think will be chosen?
  27. He wears the same coat as I wear
  28. There was a fight among two boys.
  29. George and myself were present.
  30. It is a secret between you and i.
  31. My brother is taller than me.
  32. He talks as if he knows everything.
  33. I had finished the book yesterday.
  34. He thought he can win prize.
  35. He asked me what I am doing.
  36. He insisted to go to London.
  37. Their house is opposite from ours.
  38. I have written the letter with ink
  39. The messenger will arrive just now.
  40. My brother hasn’t much books.
  41. I don’t have time to see you today.
  42. I congratulate you for your success.
  43. I look forward to see him soon.
  44. Please give me one other book.
  45. There isn’t no one here who knows his name.
Enhanced by Zemanta